The Department of Biomedicine

Research groups

The Department of Biomedicine holds one of the largest biomedical research communities in Norway and is of significant size in an international context.

Research performed at the department is organized into 10 research groups, three technology platforms and two K.J. Jebsen Centres, and is essentially directed toward studies on basal medical, biomedical and biological problems.

Some of the research performed has a clear anchor in clinical research and is based towards patient-related medical problems. This form of activity is mirrored by the focus that the department has had in recent years on translational medical research.