Research at The Faculties

The University of Bergen has seven faculties with altogether 55 departments and research centres. At all of these, and also at Bergen Museum, research of high, international quality takes place.

The University of Bergen is a research university with a high international profile. The University has two major focuses: marine research and co-operation with developing countries. These are therefore central in the faculties' strategies of research.

Research and Artistic Development is the central principle of education, from the bachelor's degree to the doctoral education. All academic staff have both a duty and a right to be active scientists.