We study the intersection of two major ongoing developments in the ICT world: semantic technologies and social media. Semantic information systems enable intelligent consumption of data by machines by exposing meaning in data using technologies such as OWL, RDF, and SPARQL, while social information systems such as Facebook, YouTube and Wikipedia are characterised by user-generated content intended for human consumption.

While semantic and social information systems may appear unrelated at first, we believe that they are in fact complementary. Social media tends to produce large collections of user-generated content that can potentially be leveraged by semantic technologies if they can be enriched (or “lifted”) semantically. For example, social technologies can be used to add dynamic, contextual semantics to Information Systems, whereas semantic technologies can be used to make the contents of social information systems more findable and better organised.

Solveig Bjørnestad's picture

Solveig Bjørnestad

Associate Professor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 41 30
  • +47 414 49 966

Solveig.Bjornestad@infomedia.uib.no

Weiqin Chen's picture

Weiqin Chen

Professor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 41 43

Weiqin.Chen@infomedia.uib.no

Tor Gjøsæter's picture

Tor Gjøsæter

PhD Candidate

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

Tor.Gjosater@infomedia.uib.no

Bjarte Johansen's picture

Bjarte Johansen

PhD Candidate

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 41 01

Bjarte.Johansen@infomedia.uib.no

Andreas Lothe Opdahl's picture

Andreas Lothe Opdahl

Professor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 41 40
  • +47 976 75 264

Andreas.Opdahl@infomedia.uib.no

Christian Raspotnig's picture

Christian Raspotnig

PhD Candidate

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 69 21 22 00

Christian.Raspotnig@infomedia.uib.no

Eirik Stavelin's picture

Eirik Stavelin

Post doctor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 91 07

Eirik.Stavelin@infomedia.uib.no

Bjørnar Tessem's picture

Bjørnar Tessem

Professor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 41 03

Bjornar.Tessem@infomedia.uib.no

Csaba Veres's picture

Csaba Veres

Associate Professor

Department of Information Science and Media Studies

  • +47 55 58 81 54
  • +47 451 41 678

Csaba.Veres@infomedia.uib.no