ARQUS Alliance

Main content

Arqus Alliance

Arqus Alliance brings together seven comprehensive research universities with strong regional involvement: BergenGranadaGrazLeipzigLyonPadova and Vilnius. Arqus is one of 17 European Universities consortia selected and funded by the European Commission under the Erasmus+ programme. 

The Alliance’s name stems from the Latin term arcus or arquus, for arch, building bridges toward a shared future. Arqus aims to better respond to the grand global societal challenges and to advance towards deeper European integration.

Our principal ambition is to design, test and implement an innovative model for deep inter-university cooperation, enabling students, staff and the society at large. By bringing together students and researchers with diverse backgrounds from the partner universities, we will enhance the quality of teaching and learning, and to strengthen our joint research capacity.

Regional engagement, innovation and service to society are key features of the Alliance, and we invite stakeholders to get involved.

Press release
Arqus Rectors

The rectors of the seven Arqus universities held the third Arqus Rectors’ Council meeting.

Following their last meeting in November 2020, the rectors of the seven Arqus universities came together on June 15th in an on-line meeting to take stock of the first period of the Alliance’s activity and discuss future plans.

Summer course for students
Arqus summer course

3 summer courses on Italian culture and history

How come Italy became… Italy? Understanding the past to explain the present is not always an easy task, but it is an interesting journey, able to enrich our view over the world we live in. The University of Padua now offers three online courses during the first half of July 2021.