Procedures for closing user accounts
UiB's procedures for closing IT user accounts ensure compliance with current legislative demands for privacy and data security.
Students' user accounts will be closed two months after their last semester.
Students who are notified that their account is about to be closed, will in the same notification receive a link to a self service feature for prolonging the IT user account by six months. Students who already have had their account closed, may in special cases apply to have it re-opened. Please send such requests to email@example.com.
Employees' user accounts will be closed on termination of the employment, but the local account administrator may prolong the account (for up to six months at a time) if the employee asks for prolongation.
Stored data will be deleted six months after the account is closed. The Microsoft Office 365 account will be closed 30 days after the UiB account.