Faculty of Medicine

Falch Lecture and Awards

The Falch Lecture is an annual honorary guest lecture presented by an internationally renowned researcher within the medical field.

Main content

The Falch Lecture is funded by a foundation called "Søren Falch og Øyenlege Sigurd Falchs fond for medisinsk vitenskap" established in 1952.

The first lecture was held by Leroy Hood in 2001, and other lecturers include among other Edvard Moser in 2011, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi in 2014 and Fred "Rusty" Gage in 2017.

The lecture is commonly held in May/June. Read more about the awards and the award winners on the Norwegian website: https://www.uib.no/mofa/108217/falch-priser-og-forelesning

Full list of Falch Lecturs and motivations here from 1996 until 2020 (Norwegian only): Falch lectures (PDF)