Home
Pandemic Centre

Experts and Subjects

The University of Bergen has several experts in pandemics and Covid-19.

Bildeutklipp fra en rekke nyhetsoppslag
UiB pandemic experts in Norwegian newspapers.
Photo:
Faksimile av VG, Khrono, TV2, Dagens medisin, BA, UiB Facebook

Main content

MEDICINE

  • Name: Esperanza Diaz
  • Title: Professor of Immigrant Health
  • Disciplines: Migration, user participation and interdisciplinary cooperation
  • Contact: esperanza.diaz@uib.no – 47 41 41 04
     
  • Name: Silje Mæland
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Public health during pandemics, absence due to illness
  • Contact: silje.maeland@uib.no – 92 40 33 14
     
  • Name: Rebecca Jane Cox
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Epidemic and pandemic research on influenza and Covid-19, clinical trials of vaccines and human immunology 
  • Contact: rebecca.cox@uib.no  - 45 24 29 74
     
  • Name: Nina Langeland
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Infection outbreaks, previous research on outbreaks of resistant bacteria, Covid-19
  • Contact: nina.langeland@uib.no – 41 61 64 50
     
  • Name: Edvin Schei
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Dissemination of knowledge, social dialogue, communication between doctor and patient
  • Contact: edvin.schei@uib.no – 97 41 37 90
     
  • Name: Bård Flattun Lilleeng
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Social medicine, general medicine and neurosurgery
  • Contact: bard.lilleeng@uib.no – 90 07 27 08
     
  • Name: Kristin G-I Mohn
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Vaccines, immunology, influenza and Covid-19
  • Contact: kristin.mohn@uib.no – 97 77 07 55 
     
  • Name: Hans Flaaten
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Intensive care medicine, quality assurance, geriatrics, quality of life, medical education
  • Contact: hans.flaatten@uib.no
     
  • Name: Elling Ulvestad
  • Title: Professor of Microbiology
  • Disciplines: Immunology, microbiology, host-microbe relationships
  • Contact: elling.ulvestad@uib.no – 90 82 45 74
     
  • Name: Audun Helge Nerland
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Molecular biology, microbiology, zoonoses (infections affecting both humans and animals), immunology, vaccines (development and testing)
  • Contact: audun.nerland@uib.no – 95 27 24 23
     
  • Name: Mette C Tollånes
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: medical biochemistry, rapid tests for Covid-19 (antibody and antigen tests)
  • Contact: mette.tollanes@noklus.no –  944 98 269
     
  • Name: Sverre Sandberg
  • Title: Head of Noklus/Professor
  • Disciplines: medical biochemistry, rapid tests for Covid-19 (antibody and antigen tests)
  • Contact: sverre.sandberg@noklus.no – 97092674
     
  • Name: Trond Egil Hansen
  • Title: Medical Director, Bergen Municipality/University Lecturer at IGS, UiB
  • Disciplines: Medicine/health management
  • Contact: trondegil.hansen@bergen.kommune.no – 90 17 61 41
     
  • Name: Ole Jacob T. Møllerløkken
  • Title: Associate Professor, Leader of SAMLET
  • Diciplines: Occupational medicine, community medicine
  • Contact: ole.mollerlokken@uib.no – 55 58 61 01 
     
  • Name: Kjetil Søreide
  • Title: Professor 
  • Dicipline: Gastrosurgery, general surgery, emergency surgery, cancer surgery
  • Contact: ksoreide@mac.comkjetil.soreide@uib.no – 92 28 15 57
     

PSYCHOLOGY

  • Name: Jarle Eid
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: School management, stress, coping with quarantine, restructuring due to pandemics
  • Contact: jarle.eid@uib.no – 93 03 52 53
     
  • Name: Atle Dyregrov
  • Title: Professor 
  • Disciplines: Crisis management, trauma, grief
  • Contact: atle.dyregrov@uib.no – 90 55 20 77
     
  • Name: Benedicte Carlsen
  • Title: Head of Department, HEMIL
  • Disciplines: Information flow relating to the spread of viruses, research communication
  • Contact: benedicte.carlsen@uib.no – 95 24 98 87  
     
  • Name: May Aasebø Hauken
  • Title: Professor 
  • Disciplines: Crisis psychology, quality of life, psychosocial health
  • Contact: may.hauken@uib.no – 41 54 96 12
     
  • Name: Unni Heltne
  • Title: Senior Adviser
  • Disciplines: Crisis psychology, crisis communication, care of employees/helpers
  • Contact: unni.heltne@uib.no – 91 64 86 74
     
  • Name: Bente Storm Haugland
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Uncertainty and coping of the pandemic among youths with anxiety and depression
  • Contact: bente.haugland@uib.no – 97 58 23 17
     
  • Name: Stephanie Le Hellard
  • Title: Professor
  • Discipline: Covid-19 and mental health
  • Contact: Stephanie.LeHellard@uib.no – 90 05 80 89
     
  • Name: Bjørn Sætrevik
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Perceived risk and compliance with infection control advice during pandemics, decision-making, risk and misconduct
  • Contact: Bjorn.satrevik@uib.no – 99 31 65 88
     
  • Name: Ståle Pallesen
  • Title: Professor
  • Diciplines: Sleep and circadian rythm
  • Contact: pklsp@uib.no – 92 63 20 99
     

EDUCATION

  • Name: Rune Johan Krumsvik
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Schooling, education and teaching during the pandemic
  • Contact: rune.johan.krumsvik@uib.no – 95 93 17 39
     
  • Name: Robert Gray
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Discipline: Online/digital teaching
  • Contact: robert.gray@uib.no – 90 80 52 27

 

ELDERLY

  • Name: Bettina Husebø
  • Title: Professor of elderly health
  • Disciplines: Care of the elderly, dementia, retirement home and nursing home medicine, palliative medicine
  • Contact: bettina.husebø@uib.no – 55 58 67 35
     
  • Name: Marie H. Gedde
  • Title: PhD Candidate 
  • Disciplines: Retirement home and nursing home medicine, dementia, mental health
  • Contact: marie.gedde@uib.no - 98 89 95 40
     
  • Name: Line Iden Berge
  • Title: Post-doc
  • Disciplines: Elderly medicine, clinical and epidemiological studies of reaction to pandemics in the elderly. 
  • Contact: line.berge@uib.no
     
  • Name: Inger Hilde Nordhus
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Elderly and mental health, anxiety and sleep problems in the elderly
  • Contact: inger.nordhus@uib.no – 90 94 09 08

 

CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS

  • Name: Stine Lehmann
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Quality of life in adolescents, foster children, trauma and stress in children and adolescents
  • Contact: stine.lehmann@uib.no – 90 17 173 
     
  • Name: Marit Skivenes
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Child protection, welfare system for children, whistleblowing, paternalism
  • Contact: marit.skivenes@uib.no – 95 92 49 79
     
  • Name: Viggo Krüger
  • Title: Associate Professor of music therapy
  • Disciplines: Music therapy, child welfare, child and youth research, music as integration
  • Contact: viggo.kruger@uib.no – 99 53 46 28
     
  • Name: Ragnhild Bjørknes
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Children and families in vulnerable life situations, child protection, mental health and quality of life in adolescents during pandemics
  • Contact: ragnhild.bjorknes@uib.no – 99 29 71 10

 

HISTORY

  • Name: Magnus Vollset
  • Title: Associate Professor and medical historian
  • Discipline: Pandemics throughout history
  • Contact: magnus.vollset@uib.no – 90 99 39 81
     
  • Name: Teemu Sakari Ryymin
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: History of health and medicine, fighting infection, health policy, public health work
  • Contact: teemu.ryymin@uib.no – 48 15 65 35
     
  • Name: Geir Atle Ersland
  • Title: Professor
  • Discipline: The Black Death
  • Contact: Geir.Atle.Ersland@uib.no – 90 16 90 73

 

TECHNOLOGY AND DATA

  • Name: Christoph Trattner
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Artificial intelligence, social networks, big data
  • Contact: christoph.trattner@uib.no – 45 39 61 80 
     
  • Name: Marija Slavkovik
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Artificial intelligence and ethical issues
  • Contact: marija.slavkovik@uib.no – 55 58 23 77 / 91 81 15 93
     
  • Name: Inge Jonassen
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Bioinformatics, data sharing, sensitive data, data analysis
  • Contact: inge.jonassen@uib.no – 90 52 43 16
     
  • Name: Christine Stansberg
  • Title: Senior Adviser
  • Disciplines: Bioinformatics, genomics, data sharing
  • Contact: christine.stansberg@uib.no – 40 23 31 84
     
  • Name: Korbinian Bösl
  • Title: Senior Engineer
  • Disciplines: Bioinformatics, data sharing, controlled sharing of sensitive data
  • Contact: korbinian.bosl@uib.no

 

EMERGENCY/FOOD SAFETY

  • Name: Peter Andersen
  • Title: Head of Department
  • Disciplines: Food safety, agriculture, climate, environmental management
  • Contact: peter.andersen@uib.no – 92 09 19 43
     
  • Name: Arild Aurvåg Farsund
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Food safety and trade/trade policy (national and international)
  • Contact: arild.farsund@uib.no – 93 05 16 93
     
  • Name: Mimi E. Lam
  • Title: Researcher
  • Disciplines: Ethics, psychology, ecology, biology, chemistry, physics
  • Contact info: mimi.lam@uib.no, – 48 40 46 22

 

MEDIA/RHETORIC

  • Name: Jens E. Kjeldsen
  • Title: Professor of rhetoric and visual communication
  • Disciplines: Media analysis, rhetoric, expertise, strategic communication, public speaking
  • Contact: jens.kjeldsen@uib.no – 93 44 95 56

 

LAW

  • Name: Malgorzata Agnieszka Cyndecka
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Discipline: Privacy and GDPR during the pandemic
  • Contact: Malgorzata.Cyndecka@uib.no - 91 10 10 24
     
  • Name: Eirik Holmøyvik
  • Title: Professor
  • Discipline: Constitutional law, crisis management, human rights 
  • Contact: Eirik.Holmoyvik@uib.no - 91 68 02 76

 

ETHICS/PHILOSOPHY

  • Name: Ole Frithjof Norheim
  • Title: Professor of medical ethics
  • Disciplines: Medical ethics, health priorities
  • Contact: ole.norheim@uib.no – 97 53 93 26
     
  • Name: Matthias Kaiser
  • Title: Professor of philosophy of science
  • Disciplines: Scientific ethics, research ethics, precautionary principles, new risks, risk assessment
  • Contact: matthias.kaiser@uib.no – 91 73 39 28
     
  • Name: Espen Gamlund
  • Title: Professor of philosophy
  • Disciplines: Philosophy, ethical assessments regarding diseases, life and death, health priorities
  • Contact: espen.gamlund@uib.no – 92 44 54 41
     
  • Name: Ingrid Miljeteig
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Discipline: Medical ethics
  • Contact: ingrid.miljeteig@uib.no – 97 18 72 74
     
  • Name: Kjell Arne Johansson
  • Title: Professor of medical ethics
  • Disciplines: Health priorities, inequality in health
  • Contact: kjell.johansson@uib.no – 97 19 18 28
     
  • Name: Jan Reinert Karlsen
  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Disciplines: Medical ethics, philosophy of science, theory of science
  • Contact: Jan.Karlsen@uib.no

 

FINANCE

  • Name: Kjell Erik Lommerud
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Cost-benefit analysis of Covid-19 measures, macroeconomics
  • Contact: kjell-erik.lommerud@uib.no – 95 80 19 01
     
  • Name: Hans K. Hvide
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Entrepreneurship, organisations and finance
  • Contact: hans.hvide@uib.no – 97 09 84 31
     
  • Name: Steinar Vagstad
  • Title: Professor
  • Disciplines: Family finances, business economics, incentive theory
  • Contact: steinar.vagstad@uib.no – 41 47 91 85

 

ART/MUSIC

  • Name: Anders Beyer
  • Title: Adjunct Professor
  • Discipline: How music affects people
  • Contact: anders.beyer@uib.no – 97 06 54 54