Einar Johannes Røttingen's picture

Einar Johannes Røttingen

  • E-mailEinar.Rottingen@uib.no
  • Phone+47 55 58 69 72+47 922 33 270
  • Visitor Address
    Lars Hilles gate 3
  • Postal Address
    Postboks 7800
    5020 Bergen

The pianist Einar Røttingen is Professor of Music Performance at the Grieg Academy, University of Bergen. In addition to being a frequent guest at the annual Bergen International Festival and Edvard Grieg Museum concert series in Norway, he has performed extensively as a soloist and chamber musician in major cities in Europe, USA, Japan and China.

Throughout the 1980s, Røttingen worked closely with the Norwegian composer Harald Sæverud and has recorded all the solo piano music in addition to the Piano Concerto with Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra (SIMAX). He has also collaborated with many living composers and has commissioned numerous works. 

His recordings include the solo-CD Avgarde (HERMERA) with works by Knut Vaage, Torstein Aagaard-Nilsen, Glenn Haugland, Jostein Stalheim and Ketil Hvoslef and others, Hika (SIMAX) - with the violinist Trond Sæverud in works by Crumb, Takemitsu, Messiaen, Debussy and Grieg - and George Crumb’s Makrokosmos (CLASSICO). Hika was chosen as ‘Selection of the month’ in The Strad in 2002. 

In 2005 Einar Røttingen was soloist with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in the first performance of Knut Vaage’s Piano Concerto The Gardens of Hokkaido which was released as a CD in 2010 (AURORA). The solo-CD Norwegian Variations (SIMAX), which includes Grieg’s Ballade op.24 and sonatas by Fartein Valen and Geirr Tveitt, was chosen as ‘Special Selection’ in International Piano in 2006 and awarded ‘Record of the Year’ by The International Grieg Society of Great Britain. This CD is also included in his PhD dissertation from 2006: Establishing a Norwegian Piano Tradition: Interpretive Aspects of Edvard Grieg’s Ballade op.24, Fartein Valen’s Sonata no.2 op.38 and Geirr Tveitt’s Sonata no.29 op.129. 

In 2007 Røttingen performed the complete 172 songs of Edvard Grieg with the bass-baryton Njål Sparbo in a series of seven concerts as part of the Grieg September Festival in Bergen. He is member of the Valen Trio which in 2012 released a critically acclaimed CD (LAWO) with trios by Ketil Hvoslef, Fartein Valen and Klaus Egge. Einar Røttingen is currently involved in recording Ketil Hvoslef’s complete chamber music on 9 CDs (LAWO).

Einar Røttingen has been awarded the City of Bergen Cultural Prize and The Bergen International Festival’s Robert Levin Festival Prize.

Academic lecture
  • Show author(s) 2002. "Toward Establishing a Norwegian Piano Tradition: Edvard Grieg's Ballade op.24 as a reference for interpreting Fartein Valen's Sonata no.2 op.38 and Geirr Tveitt's Sonata no.29".
Music – recorded product
  • Show author(s) 2016. Fetes Galantes.
  • Show author(s) 2014. Voices of Women.
  • Show author(s) 2012. Serres Chaudes.
  • Show author(s) 2010. Knut Vaage: Gardens of Hokkaido.
  • Show author(s) 2009. Serres Chaude/ Melodies Francaises -sanger av Gabriel Faure, Ernest Chausson, Camille Saint-Saens.
  • Show author(s) 2007. Chromos.
  • Show author(s) 2006. Hidden Music Gøymd musikk Hidden Music.
  • Show author(s) 2005. Norwegian Variations.
Popular scientific article
  • Show author(s) 2003. Norske variasjoner for klaver: musikalske reiser i tid og rom. Festspillmagasinet. 40-43.
Doctoral dissertation
  • Show author(s) 2006. Etablering av en norsk klavertradisjon: Interpretative trekk ved Edvard Griegs Ballade op.24, Geirr Tveitts Sonate nr.29 op.129 og Fartein Valens Sonate nr.2 op.38.
Programme participation
  • Show author(s) 2018. Notelangs: Grieg - Hva nå? Paneldebatt.
  • Show author(s) 2002. Intervju og opptak fra konsert i Hardingtonar-festival i Nordheimsund Musikk av Geirr Tveitt og Edvard Grieg.
Musical performance
  • Show author(s) 2018. The Big Bang.
  • Show author(s) 2008. Olivier Messiaen: Harawi.

More information in national current research information system (CRIStin)

The artistic research project 2017-2020 “(Un-) settling Sites and Styles - in Search of New Expressive Means” consisted of eight individual projects focusing on music by 20th century and contemporary Norwegian composers. The research project was initiated by Professor Einar Røttingen and Associate Professor Arnulf Mattes to create a forum and environment for intersubjective musical research at the Faculty of Fine Art, Music and Design (KMD), University of Bergen. It was funded by the Grieg Academy (KMD) and the Norwegian Artistic Research Programme.

Read about the project in Research Catalogue