Faculty of Psychology


May-Britt Moser awarded honorary doctorate

Nobel Prize laureat May-Britt Moser was awarded an honorary doctorate at the doctoral awards ceremony May 5th by The Faculty of Psychology.

May-Britt Moser

May-Britt Moser
Thor Brødreskift

An honorary doctorate is the highest honour the university can confer upon a person who is not employed by the University of Bergen (UiB). This type of doctorate is awarded for significant contributions or outstanding work to the benefit of science.

May-Britt Moser (born 1964) is one of the leading European Neuroscientists.  She received her education as psychologist at the University of Oslo and completed her PhD in the research group of Professor Per Andersen at the Institute of Basic Medical Research of the same university. After several years of Postdoc training in the UK and USA, May-Britt Moser established an active research group at the NTNU together with Edvard Moser. A major breakthrough in their research was a discovery in 2005 of the “grid cells” in the brain structure closely related to the hippocampus. May-Britt and Edvard Moser were awarded Nobel Prize in 2014 for this discovery. The Faculty of Psychology and the Department of Biological and Medical Psychology have shared master students enrolled in the neuroscience program at NTNU over the years, and the work by the Moser’s have been a great inspiration for researchers in biological psychology and neuroscience at the Faculty of Psychology.