Bergen Summer Research School

Scientific leadership

A scientific director and committe is appointed every year.

2020: Scientific Director for BSRS 2020 is Professor Håvard Haarstad, Centre for Climate and Energy Transformation (CET), Department of Geography, and Spaces of Climate and Energy Lab (SpaceLab).

Håvard Haarstad is professor in human geography, and have broad interests in sustainability, climate change and energy, particularly in relation to cities. Since 2016, he has been a fellow of the Bergen Research Foundation.

Previous Directors

2019: Professor Edvard Hviding, Department of Social Anthropology, UiB, and task force leader for SDGBergen.

2018: Professor Ole Frithjof Norheim, Department of Global Public Health and Primary Care and Director of Global Health Priorites, UiB

2017: Dr. Tore Sæterdal, Assistant Director, UiB Global

2016: Professor Terje Tvedt, Department of Geography, UiB

2015: Professor Rune Nilsen, Centre for International Health, UiB

2014: Professor Siri Gloppen, Department of Comparative Politics, UiB/CMI

2013: Professor Vigdis Vandvik, Department of Biology, UiB

2012: Professor Mette Andersson, Department of Sociology, UiB

2011: Associate Professor Anne Katrine Bang, Division of Research Management, UiB

2010: Professor Thorkild Tylleskär, Centre for International Health, UiB

2009: Asuncion Lera St.Clair, Department of Sociology, UiB

2008: Asuncion Lera St.Clair, Department of Sociology, UiB