Language Models and Resources

LaMoRe is a scientific research group at the University of Bergen. Its mission is to do research on computational language models and digital language resources. Its scientific basis is in general and formal linguistics, computational and corpus linguistics, psycho- and neurolinguistics, text coding and other scientific areas.

Central themes for the research group are:

  • Computational models of natural language processing by humans and machines. The LaMoRe research group has expertise in the computational modeling of language understanding, language generation (production) and language acquisition.
  • Construction and use of digital language resources. Language resources of interest to LaMoRe are text and speech corpora annotated at various linguistic levels (including treebanks), electronic dictionaries and lexicons, thesauri and wordnets, termbanks, taggers and grammars.
  • Language technology applications. LaMoRe is involved in R&D aimed at applications such as machine translation, information search and text processing tools.

The research group was established on Nov. 27, 2007 and is part of the linguistics and language studies research community at UiB. Within Bergen, the research group cooperates with Uni Research Computing and the Norwegian School of Economics.  In the context of international cooperative projects, the research group cooperates with a large number of institutions in 34 countries.

D

Koenraad De Smedt

Professor, Dr.

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

desmedt@uib.no

  • +47 55 58 20 52
  • +47 958 36 558

Cheikh Bamba Dione

PhD Candidate

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Dione.Bamba@lle.uib.no

  • +47 55 58 22 63

Helge Julius Jakhelln Dyvik

Professor

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Helge.Dyvik@lle.uib.no

  • +47 55 58 22 61

L

Gyri Smørdal Losnegaard

PhD Candidate

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Gyri.Losnegaard@uib.no

  • +47 55 58 36 97

P

Carla Parra Escartín

PhD Candidate

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Carla.Parra@lle.uib.no

  • +47 55 58 89 45

R

Victoria Rosén

Associate Professor

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Victoria.Rosen@lle.uib.no

  • +47 55 58 24 26

S

Gunn Inger Lyse Samdal

Researcher , (Ph.D)

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Gunn.Lyse@uib.no

  • +47 55 58 22 65

T

Martha Thunes

Post doctor

Institutt for lingvistiske, litterære og estetiske studier

Martha.Thunes@lle.uib.no

  • +47 55 58 33 09