Prize Winner Conversation
Prize Winner Conversation 2019

About us

The University of Bergen, in cooperation with the academic prizes The Abel Prize, The Holberg Prize and The Kavli Prize, and with support from the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, is hosting the Prize Winner Conversation 2019.

Main content

About the Prize Winner Conversation

The Prize Winner Conversation gathers laureates from the three academic prizes; The Abel Prize, The Holberg Prize and The Kavli Prize. The University of Bergen is hosting the event, with support from the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research and in cooperation with the prizes.

Follow the live stream of the event here.

Laureates and moderator

  • Professor Emerita Onora O'Neill, Baroness of Bengarve. British philosopher. Holberg Prize laureate 2017.
  • Professor Ewine van Dishoeck. Dutch astronomer and chemist. Kavli Prize laureate in Astrophysics 2018.
  • Professor S.R. Srinivasa Varadhan. Indian American mathematician. Abel Prize laureate 2007.
  • Moderator Vivienne Parry. British science journalist and broadcaster.


3-4.15 P.M.The Prize Winner Conversation, University Aula
4.15-5 P.M.Reception, Christie Café

There will be a banquet dinner in the University Aula for invited guests the same evening.

The Academic Prizes

The Abel Prize

The Abel Prize recognize contributions to the field of mathematics that are of extraordinary depth and influence. The prize carries a cash award of 6 million NOK and is awarde annually.

The Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize recognize scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Prize amounts to 6 million NOK and is awarded annually.

The Kavli Prize

The Kavli Prize recognize scientists for pioneering advances in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Presented every two years, each of three international prizes consists of $1 million (U.S.).