Institutt for sammenliknende politikk


There has not been added a translated version of this content. You can either try searching or go to the "area" home page to see if you can find the information there

Stein Rokkan’s Legacy: The Past and Future of Comparative Politics

Stein Rokkan Memorial Lecture Symposium “Stein Rokkan’s Legacy: The Past and Future of Comparative Politics” was held on Friday, October 29th. The symposium follows the 2021 Stein Rokkan memorial lecture on Thursday and commemorates the 100th birthday of Stein Rokkan The symposium re-evaluated Rokkan’s work on nation-building, citizenship, democratisation, mobilisation and comparative politics methodology through six exciting presentations given by external speakers from the Universities of Amsterdam, Gothenburg, Oslo and Tromsø as well as colleagues at the Department of Comparative Politics. The programme of the symposium is available here.

Gruppe bilde, deltakere
Leiv Marsteintredet


Date: Friday October 29th

Location: Scandic Bergen City Hotel

9:00 – 9:20 Arrival and welcome


9:20 – 10:40: Panel I: Nation-building and citizenship

Chair: Raimondas Ibenskas

Imke Habers (University of Amsterdam)

Citizens and Territory: Rokkan’s Strategies of Boundary-Building Revisited

Per Selle (University of Bergen)

An Indigenous Community of Rights – Sámi System Building in the Norwegian Unitary State

10:40 – 11:00: Coffee break


11:00 – 12:20: Panel II: Democratisation and mobilisation

Chair: Yvette Peters

Agnes Cornell (University of Gothenburg)

Democratic Stability in an Age of Crisis. Reassessing the Interwar Period

Jonas Stein (University of Tromsø)

The usefulness of a Rokkanian perspective for understanding contemporary local and regional politics

12:20 – 13:20: Lunch


13:20 –  4:40: Panel III: Stein Rokkan and comparative politics methodology

Chair: Kristin Strømsnes

Lars Mjøset (University of Oslo)

Rokkan as a grounded theorist. Reflections on his Paris 1976 lecture

Einar Berntzen (University of Bergen)

Where to place Stein Rokkans thinking within the modern Comparative Historical Analysis Tradition

14:40 – 15:00: Coffee break


15:00 –  5:30 Concluding discussion

Chair: Raimondas Ibenskas

Scientific Committee: Raimondas Ibenskas, Yvette Peters, Per Selle and Kristin Strømsnes.