University Director's Office
The Holberg Prize

An Evening with the Holberg Prize 2022

The Holberg Prize Laureate and the Nils Klim Prize Laureate in conversation about their background and their research.

Portrettbilder Sheila Jasanoff og Elisa Uusimäki
Holbergprisvinner Sheila Jasanoff og Nils Klim-prisvinner Elisa Uusimäki. (Foto: Martha Stewart / Veikko Somerpuro.)
Sheila Jasanoff /Elisa Uusimäki (Foto: Martha Stewart / Veikko Somerpuro)

Main content

This evening will feature the Holberg Prize Laureate Sheila Jasanoff and the Nils Klim Prize Laureate Elisa Uusimäki in a conversation about their background, their research and their experiences from academia amongst other themes. Details about this event will be updated after the announcement of the Laureates. Moderator for the conversation is Roger Strand, professor at the Centre for the study of the sciences and the humanities, University of Bergen.

Sheila Jasanoff is awarded the Holberg Prize in 2022 for her groundbreaking reserach in science and technology studies. Jasanoff is regarded as a pioneer in the field of STS, which examines the creation, development, and consequences of science and technology in their historical, cultural, and social contexts. She is a leading scholar at the nexus of science, technology, law, democratic theory, and public policy. Jasanoff is the Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies (STS) at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. 

Elisa Uusimäki is awarded the Nils Klim Prize in 2022 for her outstanding research into the literary and cultural history of Judaism in antiquity. Uusimäki is Associate Professor of Biblical Studies at the Department of Theology, Aarhus University in Denmark. She is also AIAS Associate Fellow at the Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies.

Roger Strand is Professor at the Centre for the Study of the Sciences and the Humanities, University of Bergen

This event is a part of the 2022 Holberg Week, which takes place from 7 to 10 June.