Research Group for European Law
FIDE report: Topic 1

The Research Group's contribution to Topic 1

Professor Christian Franklin has taken part in writing Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein's contribution to Topic 1 on "National Courts and the Enforcement of EU Law - the pivotal role of national courts in the EU legal order". This contribution is written together with Ólafur Ísberg Hannesson, Secretary in the chambers of EFTA Court President Páll Hreinsson; Ómar Berg Rúnarsson, Legal Officer, Internal Market Affairs Directorate, EFTA Surveillance Authority; Dr. Georges Baur, Research Fellow at Liechtenstein-Institut, and; Enya Steiner, PhD student at the Liechtenstein-Institut.

Christian Wagner/Unsplash

Main content

The contribution to the report is divided into five parts: "We firstly examine the notions of direct effect and supremacy (Section 2), before looking at the application of the principle of consistent interpretation (Section 3). Some examples of the delicate balancing act to be carried out between ensuring effective judicial protection of EEA rights and national procedural autonomy are then ventured (Section 4), before finally looking at the broader issue of judicial cooperation between the EFTA Court and national courts in the EFTA States under the Advisory Opinion procedure (Section 5)".

This year's FIDE report was divided into three topics: 

Topic 1: “National Courts and the Enforcement of EU Law – the pivotal role of nationalcourts in the EU legal order.”

Topic 2: “Data Protection – setting global standards for the right to personal dataprotection.”

Topc 3: “EU Competition Law and the Digital Economy – protecting free and faircompetition in an age of technological (r)evolution).”

The Research Group contributed to the first and third Topic.

The General Rapporteur for Topic 1 is Professor and Jean Monnet Chair in EU law, Michael Dougan, at the University of Liverpool.

The General Rapporteur for Topic 3 is Professor Nicolas Petit and Professor Pieter Van Cleynenbreugel, both at the University of Liège.