The Department of Biomedicine


The Department of Biomedicine is located in Building for Basic Biological Research (BBB) ​​near Haukeland University Hospital

Main content


Frode Berven, Head of Department
Frits Thorsen, Deputy Head of Department
Marion Kusche Gullberg, Deputy Head of Research
Arne Tjølsen, Deputy Head of Education
Karl Johan Tronstad, Deputy Head of Innovation
Anita H. Garden, Acting Head of Administration

Academic affairs


Bianca Cecilie Nygård, head of academic affairs and administration of master's programme in biomedical sciences
Birgitte S. Hageseter, teaching schedules, evaluation
Stian Krog, exams, student exchange
Astrid E Pettersen, anatomical donation program
Lene Dale Øygarden, physiology (on leave)
Trine Lunde, anatomy
Ludmila Burdek, chemistry and biochemistry

Financial and Research administration

Anne Mette Søviknes, PhD- and research coordinator, phd.biomed@uib.no 
Bente Elin Haugsvær, controller and fincancial officer
Inni Merete Offerdal Hernandez, financial officer
Kristianne Nordeide Havsgård, financial officer
Mai-Lisbeth Ørnes, financial officer

MEDforsk@uib.no, Research advisors and application support function, external funding and mobility (The Faculty of Medicine, MED)