Global Challenges

EEA/EFTA Explained: Where does all the money go?

Why is the purse still open to countries that undermine democratic values, suppress diversity and actively oppose judicial norms?

EU flags in front of grey building
Christian Lue, Unsplash

Main content

Every year, Norway pays several hundred million euros to be part of the EEA and EFTA. The money goes to reducing social and economic inequalities in several EU countries. However, critics claim the system is not working as it was intended and argue that Norway should not continue to support countries in Eastern Europe, where democratic tendencies are moving in the wrong direction.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a trade organization and free trade area with four European states as members: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. They all participate in the European Single Market, and part of the Schengen Area. However, not all four countries are part of the European Economic Area (EEA). How does this work? What is the price for their membership and how is this spent?

We have invited representatives from EFTA and FMO, as well as an outspoken critic of the EEA grants to explain this to us. The meeting will open for questions from the audience towards the end.

Breakfast will be served in Jekteviksbakken 31. You can also join us on Zoom

Thorfinnur Omarson (EFTA)
Eva Honningsvåg (FMO)
Malgorzata Agnieszka Cyndecka (UiB)
Kjetil Evjen (UiB)