Department of Mathematics
Election Department Board

Election of members for the Department Board

for group B (temporary staff in academic positions) and D (students) 1.08.2024-31.07.2025.


Main content

VOTE HER (period of election: May 22nd - 24th 2024):

The candidates are running for election to MI's institute council for the period 01.08.2023 - 31.07.2024.

VOTE HERE:  eValg (uib.no) 

Group B:   Isak Hammer                        Ingrid Kristine Jacobsen                        Renè Langøen                        Franceso Ballerin

Group D:  Students arrange election on their own, contact Fagutvalget. Results will be published here when ready.

A link to the election will be posted here prior to the election period.
Who will you vote for? - Names and presentations of candidates will be posted prior to the election.

Last election result (2023):

Gr. B


Rene Langøen                               
Jakob Stokke             

Substitute representants                             
1: Adrien A.A. Laurent
2: Sylvie Vega-Molino

Gr. D


 Marthe Ulmo Rønneseth                               
Lukas Knudsen
Randi Therese Eskeland

Substitute representants                                 
1: Simen H. Larsen                               
2: Vegard Hansen


Instituttrådet | Matematisk institutt | UiB

The result was made official May 30 2023.

How to put forth proposals of members to the Department Board:

(Proposals are accepted in February-March every year for the group that is to be elected. Current information will be distributed to voters.)

  • The proposal must be in writing.
  • The proposal must be signed by at least the same number of proposers as the number of candidates the proposal contains.
  • The proposer(s) must be entitled to vote in the election. No one can sign more than one proposal.
  • All proposed candidates must be eligible.
  • If any candidate is entitled to exemption from election, a written consent from the candidate must be attached to the proposal.
  • Candidates must know Norwegian well.
  • The proposal must have been submitted no later than 05.March 12:00 PM

Submit your scanned proposals to gry.parker@uib.no (secretary) and solveig.vasstveit@uib.no (contact person at Dep. of Mathematics).

Who can vote?

You can vote if you fulfill the following requirements:

Group B: Temporary academic staff employed in a minimum 50 % position for the coming 12 months or staff that have been consecutively employed for at least 12 months.

Group D: Students who are registered as a student and have paid their semester fees for the semester the election takes place, are entitled to vote.

Please check if you are eligible to vote:

Members of staff

If you cannot find your name in the electoral register, please let ut know.  Send an e-mail to: gry.parker@uib.no 

General information on elections

The Board members:

Groups StaffNumber of medlemmer Number of deputy membersElection period
Gr. A Permanent academic624 years
Gr. B Temporary academic 221 year
Gr. C Technical/administrative 224 years
Gr. D Students321 year
SUM Members138 

The Department Board today:Department Council | Department of Mathematics | UiB

Rules for governing bodies at faculties and departments at University of Bergen (only in Norwegian):Valgreglement for instituttråd ved UiB.