Members of the group

Below you find a listing of the members of the Meteorology group.

Main content

If you would like to search by name, please go here. A complete listing of the faculty and staff at GFI can be found here.

Adjunct positions

These are usually engagements of one fifth of a total position. The purpose of these positions is to supply the institute with specific additional competence.

Prof. II David Battisti (Univ. of Washingthon)
Prof. II Finn Gunnar Nielsen (STATOIL)
Prof. II Haraldur Olafsson
Assoc. Prof. II Birgitte Furevik (Meteorological Institute)
Assoc. Prof. II Anna Sjøblom (UNIS)
Assoc. Prof. II Marius Opsanger Jonassen (UNIS)


In addition to internal other staff, such as researchers and PostDocs, many of the researchers at the Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research (BCCR) have their office at the Geophysical Institute and they have a strong cooperation with the staff at the institute.

Prof. em. Sigbjørn Grønås

Dr. Idar Barstad
Dr. Michel de Santos Mesquita

Scientist II Stephanie Mayer
Scientist III Muralidhar Adakudlu

Post doc. Roohollah Azad
Post doc. Anthony Kettle
Post doc. Iselin Medhaug
Post doc. Susana Das Neves Mendes
Post doc. Mao-Lin Shen
Post doc. Ellen M. Viste
Post doc. Justin Wettstein

Senior eng. Tor Einar de Lange