Department of Social Anthropology

Annelin Eriksen and Knut Rio receive award for their research on the Pacific

“This award means a lot to us. It is wonderful to get recognition for all the work and effort we have put into our research,” says award winner Annelin Eriksen.

Prisvinnerne Knut og Annelin
The social anthropologists - and married couple - Annelin Eriksen og Knut Mikjel Rio win Stefi and Lars Fylkesakers Foundation for Excellent Research 2017.

Main content

The 2017 Stefi og Lars Fylkesakers stiftelses pris for fremragende humanistisk og samfunnsvitenskapelige forskning (The Stefi and Lars Fylkesaker Foundation's Award for Excellent Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences) has been awarded to Professor Annelin Eriksen and Professor Knut Mikjel Rio.

The prize is awarded by the prestigious Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi). The board of the Academy decided on 28 February that the award for 2017 will go to social anthropologists Annelin Eriksen and Knut Mikjel Rio at the University of Bergen.

Social Anthropology as joint project

The recognition of the commitee states, among other things, that their empirical studies in Vanuatu in Melanesia has contributed to new understandings of religious change, gender and political struggles in the Pacific Ocean.

“It is fantastic to win this prize together. Social anthropology has always been a joint project for us. The work and private spheres are not separate to us, and anthropological conversation over dinner is just as normal as other topics in hour household,” says Eriksen.

The couple are married and the two anthropologists have worked closely throughout their academic careers.

About the award

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters governs the award, and the Academy Committee has members from Norway, Sweden and Denmark. The prize constitutes of a diploma and 250,000 Norwegian kroner (NOK). The prize will be given at the Academy's annual conference 3 May, 2017.

The Department of Social Anthropology congratulates Annelin Eriksen and Knut Mikjel Rio on the award.