Norwegian National Seismic Network (NNSN)

Main content

Norwegian National Seismic Network (NNSN) consists of 34 seismic stations located in Norway and on the Norwegian Arctic islands. Most of the stations transmit real-time data and all data are processed simultaneously to detect and locate earthquakes in Norway and nearby areas. The data from the network are also used in scientific studies to better understand the distribution and causes of seismic activity as well as for understanding the Earth's structure.

The main responsibility for the operation of the network and data analysis lies with Department of Earth Science, University of Bergen. NORSAR has a sub-contract to participate in data processing and to contribute with data from selected stations.