Department of Earth Science

Main content

Ta bachelor i geovitenskap

Department of Earth Science (GEO)'s overall goal is to develop new knowledge of the Earth's structure, formation history and the driving forces for its dynamic behavior. 


The research activities at the department of Earth Science (GEO) are concentrated in thematic groups; Geophysics, Geodynamics and Basin Studies, Geochemistry & Geobiology, and Quaternary Geology and Paleoclimate.

Education: The Department of Earth Science offers education in several fields within the earth sciences, offering programs from 2 to 8 years duration. 

What are we researching on?
At the Department of Geosciences, we research a number of different geoscientific topics. The strategic focus areas for our research are Energy, Resources, Climate, Environment and Geo Hazards.

Geosciences and sustainability
Geologists and geophysicists have key competencies to solve tomorrow's challenges, as described in the UN's sustainability goals and the UN's Paris Agreement. The UN has given the University of Bergen (UiB) a leading role in the work of promoting the sustainability goals, and the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences offers several courses that directly address specific sustainability goals.

Centre for deep sea research    Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research     SapienCE      ARCEx       iEarth        NNSN        


    Steffen Leth Jørgensen

    Exploring the biosphere under the ocean

    Underneath the ocean floor, thrives a vast biosphere which activity profoundly impacting our global environment; from the air that we breathe, to the balance of the global carbon budget. The functioning of this biosphere is what the new director at the Centre for Deep Sea Research at UiB, Steffen...

    GoNorth 2023

    Discovers new hydrothermal field between Svalbard and Greenland

    Scientists taking part in the 2023 GoNorth expedition have discovered a new hydrothermal field – an area with sea floor hot springs – in the Lena Trough, part of a mid-ocean ridge between Svalbard and Greenland.

    vent filed

    The GONORTH cruise was a success!

    Early August, the GONORTH cruise organised by several Norwegian institutions came to an end. On its last ROV dive, a new hydrothermal vent field, named Ultima Thule, was discovered on the Lucky Ridge!


    CDeepSea cruise 2023

    Some news from the sea!

    Björn Nyberg

    Groundbreaking study of river channel belts published in Nature Communications

    A new study authored by Björn Nyberg and colleagues offers the world's first comprehensive classification of river channel belts at a 30-meter resolution.

    Trond Mohn Foundation recruitment (TMS-scholarship)

    Willem van der Bilt is granted TMS-scholarship (2020-2025). Read more here.
    Steffen Leth Jørgensen is granted BFS-scholarship (2016-2021). Read more here.
    Andreas Born is granted BFS-scholarship (2016-2021). Read more here.
    Nele Meckler is granted BFS-scholarship (2015-2020). Read more here.
    Bjarte Hannisdal is granted BFS-scholarship (2013-2018). Read more here.
    Nicola McLoughlin is granted BFS-scholarship (2010-2015). Read more here.

    European Research Council (ERC) 

    Nele Meckler is awarded ERC Starting Grant from EU (2020-2025). Read more here.
    Nele Meckler is awarded ERC Starting Grant from EU (2015-2020). Read more here.
    Eystein Jansen and Kerim Hestnes Nisancioglu is awarded ERC Synergi Grant (2014-2019). Read more here.