Faculty of Law

International collaboration

The Faculty of Law is continuously working to develop and maintain cooperative agreements with the best law schools and law faculties around the world.

Earth illustration

Main content

The Faculty of Law is strongly committed to international collaboration in research and education. To make studies abroad possible for our students, and to bring students from all over the world to our faculty to secure an international campus, we have signed cooperative agreements with some of the best law schools and law faculties around the world. Our students and researchers benefit from more than 150 international partners on faculty level, in addition to benefitting from the University of Bergen’s many institutional partnerships.  

We firmly believe that a semester or year abroad broadens the students’ perspectives, gives valuable knowledge about foreign law and legal cultures and provides the students with an international network which will be valuable in their future careers. Also, while learning about foreign law and legal cultures, the students simultaneously increase their understanding and awareness of special characteristics of Norwegian law and legal culture.

Among the students graduating with a Master of Law degree from the University of Bergen over the last few years, between 40 and 50 % had spent a semester or a year abroad as part of their degree.

The Faculty of Law’s student exchange and study abroad partners

(up to date as of December 2021)

Below, all of the agreements we have with study abroad partners are listed. You can read more about all our partners and agreements at the university's website for exchange agreements (norwegian only).



  • Dalhousie University
  • The University of Western Ontario


  • American University Washington College of Law, Washington DC
  • Fordham University
  • Mitchell Hamline School of Law
  • Penn State Law
  • University of California, Hastings College of Law
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Minnesota
  • Washington University, St. Louis



  • China University of Political Science and Law, Beijing
  • China Foreign Affairs University, Beijing
  • Fudan University, Shanghai
  • Peking University, Beijing
  • Renmin University of China, Beijing
  • Shandong University, Jinan
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai
  • Tsinghua University, Beijing

Hong Kong

  • Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • City University of Hong Kong


  • National Law University Delhi


  • Tel Aviv University


  • Koc University



  • Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Karl Franzens University of Graz
  • University of Innsbruck


  • Brussels Free University
  • Ghent University
  • KU Leuven
  • Université Catholique de Louvain
  • Université de Liège


  • University of Central Lancashire


  • University of Rijeka
  • University of Zagreb

Czech Republic

  • Charles University, Prague    
  • Masaryk University, Brno


  • Aalborg University
  • Aarhus University
  • University of Copenhagen
  • University of Southern Denmark


  • University of Tartu    


  • University of Eastern Finland
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Lapland
  • University of Turku


  • Aix-Marseille University
  • Lyon Catholic University
  • Université Grenoble Alpes
  • University Jean Moulin (Lyon III)
  • University of Caen
  • University of Cergy-Pontoise
  • University of La Rochelle
  • University of Lyon II
  • University of Nantes
  • University of Rennes I
  • University of Strasbourg
  • University of Paris (Paris V)
  • University Paris X Nanterre


  • Albert Ludwig University Freiburg im Breisgau
  • Bavarian Julius-Maximilians University of Würzburg
  • Christian Albrecht University of Kiel
  • EBS Universität für Wirtschaft und Recht
  • Ernst Moritz Arndt University Greifswald
  • Freie Universität Berlin
  • Georg August University Göttingen
  • Humboldt University Berlin
  • Justus Liebig University Giessen
  • Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich
  • Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
  • Philipps-University of Marburg
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Saarland University
  • Universität Bielefeld
  • University of Augsburg
  • University of Cologne
  • University of Constance
  • University of Heidelberg
  • University of Mannheim
  • University of Passau
  • University of Potsdam
  • University of Regensburg
  • University of Trier
  • Westphalian Wilhelms University Münster


  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki    


  • Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest
  • Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Budapest


  • Reykjavik University
  • University of Iceland


  • Free International University of Social Studies 'Guido Carli', Rome
  • University of Milan
  • University of Milan-Bicocca
  • University of Padua
  • University of Siena
  • University of Turin


  • Riga Graduate School of Law
  • University of Latvia    


  • Mykolas Romeris University
  • Vilnius University


  • Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Radboud University Nijmegen
  • University of Amsterdam
  • University of Groningen


  • Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan
  • Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University in Warsaw
  • Jagiellonian University, Cracow
  • Nicolaus Copernicus University, Torun
  • University of Białystok
  • University of Gdansk
  • University of Lódz
  • University of Warsaw
  • Wroclaw University


  • Universidade de Lisboa


  • Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi


  • Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University
  • National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow


  • Comenius University in Bratislava
  • University of Trnava


  • University of Ljubljana  


  • Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • Pontifical University Comillas
  • University of Girona
  • University of Malaga
  • University of Múrcia
  • University of Oviedo
  • University Rovira i Virgili, Tarragona
  • University of Salamanca
  • University of Santiago de Compostela
  • University of Valencia
  • University of Zaragoza


  • Göteborg University
  • Lund University
  • Stockholm University
  • Umeå University
  • Uppsala University
  • Örebro University


  • University of Bern
  • University of Fribourg 

United Kingdom

  • Aberystwyth University
  • King's College London, University of London
  • Lancaster University
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Dundee
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Kent at Canterbury
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Southampton



  • Bond University
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Sydney

New Zealand

  • University of Auckland