The Norwegian Institute at Athens

About the Norwegian Institute at Athens

Basic information about the Norwegian Institute at Athens

Seminar at the Norwegian Institute at Athens
Dialogues with the Past seminar at NIA.
Z. Tankosic

Main content

The Norwegian institute at Athens for classical studies, archaeology and cultural history, was founded in 1989 under the aegis of the Norwegian Association of Higher Education Institutions (UHR). According to Greek law, all foreign archaeological institutes or schools are "Archaeological Schools," i.e. they are non-profit research institutions. From January 2021 the University of Bergen is the sole owner of the Institute.

The institute is dedicated to research, teaching, publication and dissemination of the scientific study of heritage, history, archaeology and language of ancient Greece. While the main focus of the Institute’s activities is directed towards the study of the ancient cultural heritage, the scientific exploration of modern Greek and Mediterranean culture is also an important part of its mission.

The Norwegian Institute at Athens is the principal administrative resource in Greece for Norwegian academics and it aims to facilitate scientific discussion, exchange and education between the two countries. Among others, the Institute supports research by applying for research permits and by maintaining publication and lecture series through which research is disseminated. The Institute co-organizes and hosts student courses in collaboration with Norwegian educational institutions. Together with the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Greece, the Institute also supports cultural cooperation and contacts between Norway and Greece.

The Institute has an administrative staff of two employees. 

As of March 2022, NIA's resources have been furthered by the establishment of  a scientific advisory board comprised of four UiB and UiO academics, one administrator (UiB) and one student representative (UiB). The role of this advisory board is to provide input on NIA’s activities, annual plans, priorities concerning excavation projects, publications, etc.

The first advisory board is composed of the following: 

  • Professor Ole T. Hjortland, Vice Dean HF, UiB (Head of the Advisory Board)
  • Professor Mathilde Skoie, Vice Dean, HF, UiO
  • Professor Hallvard Fossheim, FoF/HF, UiB
  • Professor Eivind H. Seland, AHKR/HF, UiB
  • Dr. Zarko Tankosic, Project Manager, Administrative Manager AHKR/HF, UiB
  • Jonas Joel Joseph, student representative, UiB