Student Pages

Checklist for new international students

As a new international student at UiB, you will need to complete compulsory registrations and other formalities during the first weeks of the semester.

TB Test: Chest X-ray

Students from certain countries must be tested for tuberculosis by getting a chest X-ray at Betanien Hospital.


Who:Students from certain countries (see list below)
Why: Residence permits are not valid until final clearance from the health authorities has been given.
Where:The TB-test will take place at the Chest X-ray Unit, Betanien Hospital
When:As soon as possible after arrival
Book an appointment:Please contact the Office of Infection Control (Smittevernkontoret) to book a personal appointment. Phone number: 55 56 58 80.
What you need:Health documents 

Tuberculosis Test

The Norwegian health authorities require all new international students from countries with a high occurence of tuberculosis who intend to stay in Norway for more than three months, to be tested for tuberculosis (TB). Please note that if you have recently been tested for TB in Norway or another country, you are still required to arrange a TB test appointment. 

Persons who are exempted from TB testing must still be tested if they have been a resident in one of the countries listed below for more than 3 months, and if they will be working within health care.

TB-testing is compulsory for citizens from:


Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Greenland, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Romania, Russia and Ukraine.


Bolivia, Brazil, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay and Peru.


Guam, Kiribati, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.


Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, East Timor, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, North-Korea, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Yemen.


All countries except Egypt, Mauritius, Comoros, Seychelles and Tunisia.