Student Pages

TB Test: Chest X-ray

Students from some countries must be tested for tuberculosis by getting a chest X-ray.

Main content


Who:Students from certain countries (see list below)
Why: Residence permits are not valid until final clearance from the health authorities has been given.
Where:The TB-test will take place at the Office of Infection Control, Solheimsgaten 9, 4th floor

Students from a country with high occurence of tuberculosis have to register at the Office of Infection Control as soon as possible after arrival.

By phone: 0047 55565880 or email: smittevernet@bergen.kommune.no

Should you have questions, please use the above contact information.

Tuberculosis Test

The Norwegian health authorities require all new international students from countries with a high occurence of tuberculosis who intend to stay in Norway for more than three months, to be tested for tuberculosis (TB). Please note that if you have recently been tested for TB in Norway or another country, you are still required to arrange a TB test appointment. 

Persons who are exempted from TB testing must still be tested if they have been a resident in one of the countries listed below for more than 3 months, and if they will be working within health care.

TB-testing is compulsory for citizens from:


Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Greenland, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Romania, Russia and Ukraine.


Bolivia, Brazil, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicuragua, Panama, Paraguay and Peru.


Guam, Kiribati, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.


Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, East Timor, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, North-Korea, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Yemen.


All countries except Egypt, Mauritius, Comoros, Seychelles and Tunisia.