The Department of Biomedicine

Jan Haavik elected member of the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters

Professor Jan Haavik, head of the Neurotargeting Research Group and KG Jebsen Center for Research on Neuropsychiatric Disorders, was recently elected as a member of the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters.

Main content

The Academy is the most well-known academic society in Norway and serves to support scientific advancement both in Norway and internationally. Through the Abel Prize in Mathematics and the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience, the Academy has gained significant international attention. There are a limited number of seats, and new members are elected based on scientific merit. This year, 30 new members were elected. They received their diploma in a festive ceremony on 3 May 2018.

"It's a recognition of the research I am doing here at the Department," says Haavik. "and it directs public focus to the activities of our research group."

For Haavik, membership means being able to participate in a national and international network of peers that discusses the political challenges faced by researchers across disciplines. This autumn the academy will have a meeting in Bergen. There, Haavik will give a lecture on how clinical patient data can be used to inform basic research.

The Department of Biomedicine now has several representatives in the Academy: Aurora Martinez, Rolf K. Reed, and Stein-Ove Døskeland, as well as professores emeriti Karen Blaauw Helle and Torgeir Flatmark are members of the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters.