The Department of Biomedicine

News archive for The Department of Biomedicine

Open for registration, deadline 20th of February.
Interesting meeting in Molecular Imaging in Cologne, Germany, 05-07.04.2017
The molecular processes of myelin maturation are to a large extent still unknown. A coordinated interplay between regulatory and functional molecules must take place for correct timing of myelin membrane apposition and compaction, such that cytoplasmic channels are also formed in a correct way.
PhD-candidate Oscar Aubi Catevilla will defend his thesis: “Discovery of small-molecule activity modulators of bacterial and human phenylalanine hydroxylase”
A new system for confocal and super-resolution imaging avalible at MIC.
The Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg highlighted James Lorens and his company BerGenBio in her New Year's Address as an example of excellent cancer research and source of inspiration
Agnete Engelsen is one of seven young researchers at UiB receiving financial support during the 2016 FRIPRO announcement from the Research Council of Norway.
Auroras work at USC highlighted in the J1 Newsletter.
Professor Jan Haavik has been given the Helse Vest Research award 2016 for his research on discovering biological mechanisms that can cause ADHD-symptoms. He was rewarded the prize during the annual research conference of Helse Vest.
Welcome to the mini-seminar 3rd of November in Aud. 2, BBB, 1330-1530 and the inauguration of MICs new Confocal/STED microscope: Leica TCS SP8 STED 3X
PhD-candidate Kaya Kvarme Jacobsen will defend her thesis: “Genetic susceptibility across neuropsychiatric disorders - genome-wide, candidate gene and interaction analyses”
PhD-candidate Agnete Fossbakk will defend her thesis: “Human tyrosine hydroxylase: Oxygen dependence and role in Dopa responsive dystonia”
Bio3D-web is a new online tool for the analyses of sequence, structure and conformational heterogeneity of protein families. The tool is developed by researcher Dr. Lars Skjærven, member of the the Biorecognition group, in collaboration with Prof. Barry J. Grant at the University of Michigan.
Biorecognition won the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry prize for best research group.